Twitter

I will keep my distance from all things profound like your character
restrain all affection, I make a declaration
your infinity will forever be of more value than my existence
you’re alien to acceptance, uncover your hometown buried deep under ruins of affliction

promise me with a sober mind that your lungs have enough light
I’ll blow into your mouth breath of new life
circle yes or no on my checklist
make your heart tick with the sound of wings

can your lips sing to me an oath that your legs will never run?
still my heart and we’ll look to the east at the rising sun
don’t whisper sweet nothings in my ear when your tongue can taste clouds
baby, your eyes are moons and your wounds are deeper than a well
bucket me a trapdoor of cracks I can peep through I’ll
make sure that I watch you
until your understanding of infinite becomes true

do you know the origin of the word you consider harmful
stone me to death, maybe I will feel less pain I will gain
a million more things than you ever will
and maybe I’ll teach others
how to appreciate blue timelines and bold black words
like how I’ve learnt from your misspelled words and surface assumptions

bucket me a songbird that will tweet to me your password
because baby, I am locked out of your lifeline
and keys don’t exist where you’re concerned
you are a piece of me that I cannot let go
an addiction, affliction
injection into my veins
your stain is far from perfect,
and so am I
so let’s keep this secret between us

so let’s lie to hide

reflection:
I wrote this poem about a friend of mine. Actually to be honest, I’m not even sure if we’re friends anymore. We’ve been kind of distant lately and I’m not really sure what I’ve did wrong and we’ve been tweeting about it on twitter indirectly about each other. We were close at one point but the friendship just faded away and now I don’t think I can even call us friends anymore and I’m really sad. Whenever I feel any kind of extreme or heightened emotion, I’ll write a poem whether it is about a topic or someone or something. I miss our friendship and I miss us but I’m not sure if she cares as much. Anyway, this is for you.

Leave a comment